Moving forward

I was at a funeral this past weekend at a Lutheran Church. As part of the service, the congregation were doing the reading from the hymn book.

What was interesting was that everyone was reading the verses, reciting verbatim, without thought. My wife, a believer, followed along dutifully. Suddenly, a line was read by all, which said “We believe in the catholic church…”, which was read by all – including my very baptist wife. She looked at me, horrified that the words had left her lips.

It was an interesting moment for me. I believe that just for an instant, my wife realised that she wasn’t thinking, but just following along, doing as the church said. There are many times she gets annoyed that in the few times we find ourselves in a church, that I don’t sing, bow my head in prayer, or just follow along. When it comes up again (and it WILL come up again), I’ll be sure to gently remind her that as she didn’t want to speak things which she didn’t believe was true, the same holds true for me.

4 thoughts on “Moving forward

  1. It’s not a reference to the Catholic church–you were in a Lutheran church after all.

    catholic – adjective
    1. broad or wide-ranging in tastes, interests, or the like; having sympathies with all; broad-minded; liberal.
    2. universal in extent; involving all; of interest to all.
    3. pertaining to the whole Christian body or church.

    I get your point, it’s not good to follow blindly. But you can make your wife feel better if you tell her she wasn’t pledging herself to some heathen denomination.

    Like

    • That’s a great point. To be honest, she and I have both come from non-catholic backgrounds, so to us, the word “catholic” meant exactly that – the Catholic church. She probably thought that Lutheran was an off-shoot of the Catholic religion, much like there are various denominations within the protestant churches. For me, I actually thought they may have picked up the hymnals from another church, which happened to be Catholic.

      I’m sure she won’t think much about it after the fact, and she’s sure that she’s not Catholic.

      Thanks for the comment!

      Like

      • As a former Lutheran I find that hysterical. Most Lutherans think Catholics are going to hell, they wouldn’t be caught dead using Catholic hymnals. Martin Luther is regarded as one of the first founders of protestantism which is a short way of saying “we’re not Catholic.” Luther was also a raging anti-semite. Lutherans are big on who they’re not.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, that sounds like almost EVERY denomination. It reminds me of the joke:

    I was walking across a bridge one day, and I saw a man standing on the edge, about to jump off. So I ran over and said, “Stop! Don’t do it!”
    “Why shouldn’t I?” he said.
    I said, “Well, there’s so much to live for!”
    He said, “Like what?”
    I said, “Well, are you religious or atheist?”
    He said, “Religious.”
    I said, “Me too! Are your Christian or Buddhist?”
    He said, “Christian.”
    I said, “Me too! Are you Catholic or Protestant?”
    He said, “Protestant.”
    I said, Me too! Are your Episcopalian or Baptist?”
    He said, “Baptist!”
    I said, “Wow! Me too! Are your Baptist Church of God or Baptist Church of the Lord?”
    He said, Baptist Church of God!”
    I said, “Me too! Are your Original Baptist Church of God or are you Reformed Baptist Church of God?”
    He said, “Reformed Baptist Church of God!”
    I said, “Me too! Are you Reformed Baptist Church of God, Reformation of 1879, or Reformed Baptist Church of God, Reformation of 1915?”
    He said, “Reformed Baptist Church of God, Reformation of 1915!”
    I said, “Die, heretic scum!” and pushed him off.

    Like

Leave a Reply

